Yes, you read right, I have started another MOOC

Sorry I haven’t posted for a while, you see I have been busying MOOCing.  My last MOOC was through canvas.net and I was studying learner analytics.  This was a well organised course, with lots of information, activities and directions.  I did find it just a little overwhelming though.  I decided to glean what I could (time was short) and forget the assessments.  I asked myself the question, do I really need this piece of paper and my answer was NO!

I have realised that this is the great thing about MOOCs.  You can choose how you participate, what you participate in and what you want to learn.  I don’t know if you are like me but if I pay for a course and I don’t complete, I feel a bit disappointed with myself.

MOOCs are free, there are no costs associated and there is no real disappointment.  I choose upfront what I want to gain from my involvement.  I like this approach.  So even though I didn’t do the assignments I learnt a lot and I have some great references for future use.  If you want to see the links I have saved them in a pearl tree for quick access http://pear.ly/bXmNj.

My current MOOC is also through canvas.net and it started yesterday.  I am really excited about this one as we will be exploring instructional design techniques for mobile learning.  I can’t wait to see where this MOOC will take me.  To keep track of the web resources I will access through this course I will also use pearl trees.  If you are interested you can keep track at http://pear.ly/b5YC1.

image represents the current layout of Gail's Pearltree

Gail’s pearl trees

Okay back in touch soon, wish me luck.

2 thoughts on “Yes, you read right, I have started another MOOC

  1. I have been following the interests in MOOCS for a very long time but haven’t really started any courses. I have more or less dabbled in a few lectures. However, I have been inspired by your tweets and have taken said plunge. I selected the instructional design because it compliments the IICT subject I’m doing at Flinders. Isn’t it wonderful how flexible, accessible and democratizing education has become. Connectivity does build a community to facilitate collaboration. Thank you Gail!

Leave a Reply

