to video or not to video…. that is the question

We are in our second week of #IDML13 and we were asked to play around with video using our mobile devices. The choice was to download some apps and create movies of what we were doing on the screen but as I have done this many times before I chose to use the inbuilt video on my iPhone and then manipulate several videos using an app on my iPad. If you are interested in my experience please read on and hopefully you won’t make the same mistakes I did.

Step one: find a suitable subject and record some video footage

Life has been hectic so I coerced a family member to be my subject during a recent family outing. Surprisingly there were no shortage of participants willing to be part of my experiment so I have quite a bit of footage I can play with in the coming weeks.

For my first video I decided I would explore how I could work with a combination of short clips and integrate them into one short video. I would also combine text and audio to make more interesting…. well at least that was what I was hoping for.

Off we went down the Shoalhaven River and I madly recorded everything that seemed of interest. At the end of the day I felt it was a job well done.

Step two: transfer the video from my phone to my iPad

Sounds easy, well no it wasn’t. First of all when I synced my iPhone to the laptop my videos were sideways :-).

Windows movie maker could correct this so I needed to do a bit of research to find how I could do this…. for free, because this is what my learners will want. Luckily it didn’t take long and I found I could download Windows Movie maker for free.

Tip: Google windows essentials 2012 and when you install make sure you take the tick off any applications you don’t want.

Once I flipped my video correctly I realised they would be quite narrow on the screen. I do highly recommend you video with your phone horizontally, I know I will next time.

While I was in Movie maker I took advantage of the cool media formats available for title pages and credits. I liked these better than the ones I had available in Pinnacle Studio for the iPad. Now if you don’t want to edit on your ipad you could continue to trim (start and finish of your video) and split your video into frames here. It was quite easy to do but I found I needed to continually split frames to get close to the content I wanted to delete. This part was much easier in Pinnacle Studio.

You can also download royalty free music from the iTunes store and attach it to your video. The great thing about Movie maker is it will automatically stop the music at the end of the movie. Pinnacle Studio didn’t do that and the music kept playing unti the end (you can manually delete it but that will take some effort).

Step three: Getting your movie onto your iPad

If you save your file in the Windows Movie player format you won’t be able to get it onto your iPad even by dragging and dropping via Windows Explorer. You need to save it in an iPad format. When you go to save your movie take the time to have a look at all the save formats (it is quite a long list) and as you scroll down you will see an iPad format.

Hint: save the file to your video library so it is easy to find
The next thing you need to do is to get the movie into your iTunes account on your pc. This was quite simple, go to the library and open the video while in iTunes. After that it should appear in your list.

Next sync your iPad with your iTunes account on your PC
Once you have done this you can begin to work off your iPad. Open Pinnacle studio and when it requests access to your pics and videos simply say yes. This will allow you to find your video and drag it onto your storyboard for editing.

Pinnacle studio is quite easy to use. It is also very easy to cut segments out using the razor blade. I suggest you have a go and make great use of the undo button if you need to. With some of your changes and insertions (such as title pages) you may also need to render the frame – use the first two options – they work really well.

Finally you will need to export your video to Youtube. You will need an account and your own YouTube channel. If you are unsure of how to do this there are plenty of online tutorials that can help.

Now for my finished product. As you can see it is quite amateurish but I learnt a lot and I have a deeper understanding of video editing on the iPad…. exactly what I was after!

4 thoughts on “to video or not to video…. that is the question

  1. Thank you Gail for sharing your experience and insights. I found it so I the resting and beneficial to development of my skills in this area. Working in disabilities I have found that more and more students are coming to TAFE with smartphones and respond well to the easy interface and accessibility that reduces many barriers

    Sent from my iPhone

    • i am so glad it was helpful. Video can be a bit tricky but if we find simple methods for using it I think it is such a great tool for capturing experiences and presenting engaging content and activities

  2. I am also interested in camrecord or a way to record on screen received some wonderful advice today from swsi intel but do you have a good program?

    • Hi Kathy

      It depends if you want to record on your PC or iPad. If PC I have used tools like snagit, camstudio, captivate and even Adobe connect recordings and sharing my screen. I have also heard screen vidshot (geovid.com) works well but I haven’t used it.

      On the iPad it is not so easy. There is no real app that I know of that will capture it for unless you are happy to record it using whiteboard apps Like explain everything and Showme. If you are lucky enough to have a Mac you could download the Reflection app. I have an Apple Tv that I can mirror my iPad on the TV but unfortunately my tv doesn’t have recording abilities.

      Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

