Is Social Media a Fad?

Technology in Vocational Educaton and Training (VET)

There seems to be a lot of discussion happening around the use of social media in VET.  Almost daily teachers ask me – ‘should I use social media in my course’ or ‘how can I use social media in the course?’.  Sometimes the discussion turns ‘ I don’t think students will do their work if they have access to Twitter or Facebook’.

Before you make a decision I suggest you check your organisation’s social media policy and make sure you understand it. If your organisation doesn’t have a social media policy this is your starting point. If you need help you could check out the NSW Have your Say website for some cool tips and strategies for using Social Media.

There are so many ways you can incorporate the use of social media in your training programs and I believe if planned correctly (its more about their purpose, than it…

View original post 309 more words

Leave a Reply

